Three Imaginary Girls

Seattle's Indie-Pop Press – Music Reviews, Film Reviews, and Big Fun

From M.I.A's "Kala" to Radiohead's "In Rainbows" and every musical tidbit in between, XL Recordings has released a cavalcade of music in the last year or so. Obviously, they're real darn excited over at XL, because they've put out a compilation, "08/09", of tracks they've been tinkering with and some they are prepping for release later this year.

Highlights include the oft-overplayed (hello KEXP) Peter Gabriel/Hot Chip collab, who render Vampire Weekend's "Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa" into a much more enjoyable form than it's original, and the surprising soulfulness of the Raconteurs "Many Shades of Black" with Adele at the vocal helm. Damon Albarn's new endeavour with Jamie Hewlett, Monkey, also has a track on this comp. "Heavenly Peach Banquet" is surprisingly delicate and enchanting, like an emotionally stable Coco Rosie or a more youthful, playful Air.

Chock full of songs by newcomers like psych-pop Golden Silvers and Yorkshire-bred wavy-voiced Laura Groves, also known as Blue Roses, "08/09" shows a bright and promising future at XL Recordings. Their transformation from dance label to eclectic mish mash was smart, especially if they keep putting out tracks like these. Complete track listing below.

1. Hot Chip & Peter Gabriel – Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa

2. Jack Penate – Tonight's Today

3. M.I.A. – Boyz (feat. Jay Z)

4. Adele & The Raconteurs – Many Shades of Black

5. Monkey – Heavenly Peach Banquet

6. Golden Silvers – Another Universe

7. El Guincho – Antillas

8. The Cool Kids – Action Figures

9. Titus Andronicus – Titus Andronicus

10. Blue Roses – Doubtful Comforts