Three Imaginary Girls

Seattle's Indie-Pop Press – Music Reviews, Film Reviews, and Big Fun

Zooey Deschanel & M. Ward, She & Him

One of the most enjoyable films I saw at SIFF this year was the Marc Webb directed/Scott Neustadter penned (500) Days of Summer – which packed in enough pop culture references to make me feel really nostalgic. Of course this carries over to the soundtrack, something that I’m HIGHLY anticipating (out July 14th on Sire Records).

But I digress: I mentioned before that Zooey Deschanel’s band She & Him would have an exclusive track covering The Smiths “Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want” and lucky for us, Stereogum is featuring it! Click here to read the article, listen to the track – and see a cute video of Zooey & co-star Joseph Gordon-Levitt gabbing about karaoke tunes. 

Complete soundtrack listing:

  • Mychael Danna And Rob Simonsen – “A Story Of Boy Meets Girl”
  • Regina Spektor – “Us”
  • The Smiths – “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out”
  • Black Lips – “Bad Kids”
  • The Smiths – “Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want”
  • Doves – “There Goes The Fear”
  • Hall & Oates – “You Make My Dreams”
  • The Temper Trap – “Sweet Disposition”
  • Carla Bruni – “Quelqu’un M’a Dit”
  • Feist – “Mushaboom”
  • Regina Spektor – “Hero”
  • Simon & Garfunkel – “Bookends”
  • Wolfmother – “Vagabond”
  • Mumm-Ra – “She’s Got You High”
  • Meaghan Smith – “Here Comes Your Man”
  • She & Him – “Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want”

I’m thinking pre-order. You? 🙂