Three Imaginary Girls

Seattle's Indie-Pop Press – Music Reviews, Film Reviews, and Big Fun

Rhino, the folks that specialize in pulling together retro compilations a plenty, have taken on the task of releasing another Best Of… The Smiths compilation, this one titled The Sound of the Smiths.

As you'd expect, the Rhino comp features some of the classic tracks, but they are trying to take it up a notch by also including rarities, B-sides and live stuff. Also, they are releasing the entire Smiths catalog digitally on November 11, 2008.

Although I am skeptical of adding another Smiths' comp to my collection, the rarities portion has piqued my interest. I just might like to find this in my stocking.

What is on your The Sound of the Smiths compilation? Did they miss anything?  That is, except for the limited edition screen printed poster and live DVD.


The compilation was completed with the full cooperation of Morrissey, who provided the title (ed note: catchy and poetic, no?), and Johnny Marr, who personally supervised the mastering. They both assisted in the track selection, and their joint involvement ensures that this will be the most comprehensive look back at The Smiths' extraordinary career to date.

THE SOUND OF THE SMITHS will be available as either a single-disc or two-disc collection. The two-disc version offers an additional 22 tracks, including rare B-sides, tracks that were exclusive to 12-inch releases and selected live recordings. Among the rarities are the Troy Tate-produced "Pretty Girls Make Graves"; a live version of "Meat Is Murder" from the vinyl 12-inch single version of "That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore"; and "What's The World," a cover of the fellow Manchester band James that was recorded live in Glasgow and originally released only on cassette single.


1. "Hand in Glove" – Single Version
2. "This Charming Man" – Single Version
3. "What Difference Does It Make" – Peel Sessions Version
4. "Still Ill" – Album Version
5. "Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now" – Single Version
6.  "William, It Was Really Nothing" – Single Version
7. "How Soon Is Now?" – 12" Single
8. "Nowhere Fast" – Album Version
9. "Shakespeare's Sister" – Single Version
10. "Barbarism Begins At Home" – 7" Version
11. "That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore" – Single Version
12. "The Headmaster Ritual" – Album Version
13. "The Boy With The Thorn In His Side" – Single Version
14. "Bigmouth Strikes Again" – Single Version
15. "There Is A Light That Never Goes Out" – Album Version
16. "Panic" – Single Version
17. "Ask" – Single Version
18. "You Just Haven't Earned It Yet Baby" – Single Version
19. "Shoplifters Of The World Unite" – Single Version
20.  "Sheila Take A Bow" – Single Version
21. "Girlfriend In A Coma" – Single Version
22. "I Started Something I Couldn't Finish" – Single Version
23.  "Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me" – Single Version

(Includes the Single CD along with the following)

1. "Jeane" – Single B-Side
2. "Handsome Devil" – – Single B-Side, Live 1983
3. "This Charming Man" (New York vocal)- 12" Single
4. "Wonderful Woman" – 12" Single
5. "Back To The Old House" – Single B-Side
6. "These Things Take Time" – 12" Single B-Side
7. "Girl Afraid" – Single B-Side
8. "Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want" – Single B-Side
9. "Stretch Out And Wait" – Single B-Side
10. "Oscillate Wildly" – 12" Single B-Side
11.  "Meat Is Murder" – Live In Oxford – Single B-Side
12. "Asleep" – Single B-Side
13. "Money Changes Everything" – Single B-Side
14. "The Queen Is Dead" "Take Me Back To Dear Old Blighty" – Medley
15. "Vicar In A Tutu" – Single B-Side
16. "Cemetry Gates" – Single B-Side
17. "Half A Person" – Single B-Side
18. "Sweet And Tender Hooligan" – 12" Single B-Side
19.  "Pretty Girls Make Graves" — Single B-Side, Troy Tate Version
20. "Stop Me If You Think You've Heard This One Before" – Album Version
21.  "What's The World" -Live In Glasgow
22. "London" – Live In London